1. Gods Word and a Creative Display

Today is the first day of “blogging” for me. It is completely out of my comfort zone but this Proverbs 31 “Living So That” by Wendy Blight Bible study has been doing such amazing things in my life, so I decided to take a leap of faith and participate in this challenge. I have gained so much confidence, understanding and knowledge from this study already. I am excited every morning when I wake up to dig into my book and Gods word! It has been such a blessing in my life.

Memorizing Scripture has always been a challenge for me. I was one of those children in school who made flash cards for every test. I would go over them and over them until they were stuck in my head. Being a new mom to a three (almost four month old little girl) it is very difficult to find time during the day to sit and study flashcards. That was until I decided I would make flashcards and put them in places that I spend the majority of my day. Those of you who are moms can probably guess where those places are. You all may think I am crazy…..but this is what I came up with.

First place: Right next to the kitchen sink. I wash bottles and do dishes more times than I can count throughout the day, so while standing in the kitchen I am able to read over John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son so that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Image

Second place: In front of Lydia’s changing table. I spend a lot of time throughout the day at this changing table so while I am there i read this verse out loud in my “baby talk” voice or I sing it (very off tune) but she likes it. 2 Timothy 3:16-17 “All Scripture is GOD- Breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in Righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

Image

Third Place: In front of her pack and play downstairs. I also spend a lot of the day in front of this spot either rocking her or doing tummy time. So I do the same thing here. I will sing it, say it or recite it in my head. Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence so that we may receive mercy and grace to help us in our time of need.”

Image

And then to add a little spice and challenge to the equation, yesterday when she was napping I took a box of diapers and wrote the book and chapter of the verses on all the diapers. So when I am putting a new diaper on her I try and recite the verse by memory.

Image

And the greatest part of it all is that I get to read and sing scripture to this little face, that I pray will grow to be a young woman after the heart of God.

Image

Love to you all

Anna

 

20 thoughts on “1. Gods Word and a Creative Display

  1. Awww!! Just look at her widdle face!! She is too adorable!! Isn’t it so awesome we can take God’s Word, and put it where ever we need it? Love all your ideas and let me just say congrats on your first ever blog!!! How exciting for you and for us!! Thank you for sharing, I was totally blessed by your post!

    Trish (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

    • Thank you Trish! That means so much to me! I was and still am nervous about this process! I had the fear that my blogs would not interest anyone and would not live up to all the other blogs I read on here which are amazing! But thankfully I have God helping me type the words on the page each time!

  2. Blessings to you! You are soaking in God’s word right where you live. Oh! I absolutely love your displays. Simple and practical. Each posted where you spend your days. And the diaper challenge – wonderful idea! Carla (P31 OBS Blog Hop Team)

    • Thank you Carla! My outlook and whole day has been changed through this process! Its amazing what God can do! This study has been incredible so far!

  3. WOW!!! Welcome to the blogging world! You did a great job. I love the idea of putting the verses where YOU spend most of your day, which will look different for everyone. But what I loved THE MOST is that you wrote scripture on the diapers. Not only is mommy learning verses, you’re teaching & installing them in your sweet baby (who is beautiful by the way!!!!). AND covering her in Gods Word- literally. Oh I love love love this! Thanks for sharing!
    Emily
    P31 OBS Volunteer

    • Thank you Emily!! You have no idea how much it means to me to have all of you post such encouraging words on my blog! It is giving me the confidence that I was lacking and helps me to realize that its okay when I step out of my comfort zone! God creates amazing situations for us when we trust him and take leaps of Faith!

  4. Awwwwww, she is absolutely adorable and she has one smart mummy indeed. I so love these ideas, thank you so much for posting…My face held a smile throughout the entire read and just got wider especially at the very end with the diapers. I’m due in July and will be home for quite sometime dedicating time to the new baby and your ideas will be used. Thank you for blessing me with them! Have a blessed time with you baby, and memorizing those verses! Ÿour sister in Christ, Sabrina

    • Thank you Sabrina! I am so glad you enjoyed reading it! Being home the majority of the time with Lydia I had to start getting creative! 🙂 Congratulations on the new addition coming in July! That is so exciting! Babies are such an incredible gift. Having Lydia really made Gods love for me click! It was in the first few moments I saw her that I fully understood what unconditional love really is. I will be thinking of you in July and praying for a quick delivery and healthy baby and mommy!! Blessings to you and baby!

      • Aww thank you, prayer is a wonderful precious gift, the best and for you to bring me to His throne room of grace is a blessing. I know what you mean about motherhood, it transforms us…this also made me see clearly the love that our Heavenly Father has for us, His children, definitely unconditional. Enjoy this new chapter in your life…we were made to be fruitful and multiply…this is where we experience the greatest joys.

  5. PRICELESS!!!!!!!!!!!! I love the idea of the verses on the diapers. I think I might start doing that for baby shower gifts!!!!! I am pinning that so I can remember to do it!!!

    • Tonya, that is such a good idea! I have a few friends that are expecting so I might have to steal that idea for their baby showers! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. I am a college student home for the summer. I have read a few articles about how to stay connected in your faith walk throughout the summer months, and one of the suggestions was to memorize scripture. Your ideas about putting it places you go often is a really good idea. I’m not a mother so the places will have to be altered, but I think it is a neat idea to do it like that. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • Meredith
      I am so glad you liked this idea! I have always found it to be a great way to incorporate Gods word throughout the day! I often found that by having these note cards up I did not let the little things that would usually get to me bother me. I am 24 so college wasn’t too long ago for me (2 years ago actually) and when I would come home from college I would put scripture on my mirror in my bedroom and bathroom then I lamented some and put them on the shower wall and I put one on my computer! Please share how it works for you and how the memorization goes! 🙂
      I hope you have a wonderful summer break!!
      Much love
      Anna

Leave a Reply

